Trio of photos from Music & Arts Department including choir, band, and theater.

 

Music & Performing Arts

Lisa Abel photo    

Welcome to the Simsbury Public School's Music and Performing Arts Department Webpage. Through this page you will be able to find the most up to date information about our music and performing arts programs.  This includes an updated  calendar indicating rehearsal and performance schedules and additional information about specific programs and performing arts organizations.

We encourage you to use this site as your source of information about in-school programs, curricular school and district         based  after school activities, and inter-district programs. There is also a link to our district-wide parent support group,   the  Simsbury Friends for Music and Performing Arts.  Over time, individual teachers plan to develop web pages that will support teaching and learning in the classroom.

As a department, we are committed to providing all students with a quality education in music and performing arts.   We believe the arts are a rigorous and engaging subject that provides students with a wide variety of 20th century work skills and understandings that are valuable in their own right, and provide a vehicle for learning in other disciplines. We believe the arts will play an ever increasing role in the students' lives at they face new challenges in an ever changing world. 

Lisa Abel, Director
label@simsburyschools.net

Our Mission

SIMSBURY MUSIC DEPARTMENT MUSIC-MAKING AND LEARNING: Active engagement is at the core of musical instruction in the Simsbury Public Schools. Whether active engagement takes the form of creating, performing, or responding, it is our belief that students construct personal knowledge through the process of discovery and reflection as active participants. Such engagement transcends the many varied courses of studies within the department.

Calendar

February 2024
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Jan 28
Mon, Jan 29
Tue, Jan 30
Thu, Feb 1
Fri, Feb 2
SHS Winter Musical
SHS Auditorium
Sat, Feb 3
SHS Winter Musical
SHS Auditorium
Sun, Feb 4
SHS Winter Musical
SHS Auditorium
Mon, Feb 5
Tue, Feb 6
Wed, Feb 7
Thu, Feb 8
Curriculum Committee
BOE Conference Room
Fri, Feb 9
SHS Winter Musical
SHS Auditorium
Sat, Feb 10
SHS Winter Musical
SHS Auditorium
Sun, Feb 11
SHS Winter Musical
SHS Auditorium
Mon, Feb 12
Tue, Feb 13
BOE Meeting - Cancelled
BOE Conference Room
Wed, Feb 14
Thu, Feb 15
Fri, Feb 16
Sat, Feb 17
Sun, Feb 18
Mon, Feb 19
Tue, Feb 20
Wed, Feb 21
Special BOE Meeting
BOE Conference Room
Thu, Feb 22
Fri, Feb 23
Sat, Feb 24
Sun, Feb 25
Mon, Feb 26
Tue, Feb 27
Subscribe to Alerts BOE Meeting
Squadron Line School
Wed, Feb 28
Thu, Feb 29
Fri, Mar 1
Sat, Mar 2

Calendar & Category Legend:

  • BOE Calendar
    • BOE Curriculum Committee
    • BOE Policy Committee
    • BOE Personnel & Negotiations Committee
    • Communications Committee
  • HJMS Music Calendar
  • Latimer Music Calendar
  • Music & Performing Arts Calendar
  • SHS Music Calendar
  • SQL Music Calendar
  • Tariffville Music Calendar
  • Tootin' Hills Music Calendar

Media

Photo Gallery