Music & Performing Arts

Photo of Angela Griffin

Welcome to the Simsbury Public School's Music and Performing Arts Department Webpage. Through this page you will be able to find the most up to date information about our music and performing arts programs. This includes an updated calendar indicating rehearsal and performance schedules and additional information about specific programs and performing arts organizations.

We encourage you to use this site as your source of information about in-school programs, co-curricular school and district-based after school activities, and inter-district programs. There is also a link to our district-wide parent support group the Simsbury Friends for Music and Performing Arts. Over time, individual teachers plan to develop web pages that will support teaching and learning in the classroom.

As a department, we are committed to providing all students with a quality education in music and performing arts. We believe the arts are a rigorous and engaging subject that provides students with a wide variety of 20th century work skills and understandings that are valuable in their own right, and provide a vehicle for learning in other disciplines. We believe the arts will play an ever increasing role in our students' lives as they face new challenges in an ever changing world.

Angela Griffin, Director
agriffin@simsbury.k12.ct.us

Our Mission

SIMSBURY MUSIC DEPARTMENT MUSIC-MAKING AND LEARNING: Active engagement is at the core of musical instruction in the Simsbury Public Schools. Whether active engagement takes the form of creating, performing, or responding, it is our belief that students construct personal knowledge through the process of discovery and reflection as active participants. Such engagement transcends the many varied courses of studies within the department.

Calendar

January 2021
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Dec 27
Mon, Dec 28
Tue, Dec 29
Wed, Dec 30
Thu, Dec 31
Fri, Jan 1
Sat, Jan 2
Sun, Jan 3
Mon, Jan 4
Tue, Jan 5
Wed, Jan 6
Thu, Jan 7
Fri, Jan 8
Sat, Jan 9
Sun, Jan 10
Mon, Jan 11
Tue, Jan 12
BOE Meeting
Board Conference Room
Wed, Jan 13
Thu, Jan 14
Fri, Jan 15
Sat, Jan 16
Sun, Jan 17
Mon, Jan 18
Tue, Jan 19
Wed, Jan 20
Thu, Jan 21
Sat, Jan 23
Sun, Jan 24
Mon, Jan 25
Tue, Jan 26
Subscribe to Alerts BOE Meeting
Latimer Lane School
Wed, Jan 27
Thu, Jan 28
Fri, Jan 29
Sat, Jan 30
Sun, Jan 31
Mon, Feb 1
Tue, Feb 2
Wed, Feb 3
Fri, Feb 5
Sat, Feb 6

Calendar & Category Legend:

  • BOE Calendar
    • BOE Curriculum Committee
    • BOE Policy Committee
    • BOE Personnel & Negotiations Committee
    • Communications Committee
  • Central School Music Calendar
  • HJMS Music Calendar
  • Latimer Music Calendar
  • Music & Performing Arts Calendar
  • SHS Music Calendar
  • SQL Music Calendar
  • Tariffville Music Calendar
  • Tootin' Hills Music Calendar

Upcoming Performances

This year's winter musical is Hairspray. Please visit the Winter Musical website for show times and online ticket ordering information.

MLK Celebration 2020

Photo Gallery